Best Sports Web site of 2011 to be Named by Web Marketing Association in 15th Annual WebAward Competition

Best Sports Web site of 2011 to be Named by Web Marketing Association in 15th Annual WebAward CompetitionThe Web Marketing Association announces the call for entries for its 15th annual international WebAward Competition for Web site development at The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets benchmarks for 96 industries, including sports websites, based on the seven criteria of a successful web site. The deadline for sports websites to enter to be judged is May 27, 2011.

“The sports industry is very competitive when it comes to Web development and companies can benefit from the independent evaluation of their online efforts,” said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association. “Sports websites play an essential role in offering fans the latest information including stats, scores and news. Effective sports websites branch into the retail space offering fans a convenient way to purchase team products. Fans also can bring a passion to online communities not found in many other industries.”

Web sites are judged on seven criteria including design, innovation, content, technology, interactivity, copy writing and ease of use. Each WebAward entry is judged against other entries in its industry category and then against an overall standard of excellence.

All entrants benefit from receiving valuable feedback in terms of their specific scores compared against the average scores for their industry. They also may receive specific comments from the WebAward’s professional judging panel on their Web site development efforts.

Winners of a WebAward in the sports category will also receive:

  • Handsome statue or certificate of achievement
  • Increased visibility for their company
  • Marketing opportunity to promote the company website to the media
  • Links to your site from the highly ranked WebAward site to help SEO
  • Admiration of peers, friends and co-workers

Each year the Web Marketing Association names the Best Sports Website based on the scores submitted by the competition judges.

Recent winners of the Best Sports Website include:

2010 – Cuker Interactive for Xterra Wetsuits

2009 – BLITZ Agency for DirecTV NFL Supercast AIR Application

2008 – Reebok / Zugara for RBK DGK 2007

2007 – bbdigital (Blattner Brunner) for Golf Pride Website

2006 – The Overland Agency for Soloflex, Inc. Microsite

2005 – R/GA for Nike Basketball

2004 – Zugara and Reebok for RBK Sound and Rhythm

2003 – Refinery, Inc. for Prince Tennis Website

2002 – for CBS

A complete list of past winners and the entry form for companies who wish to compete for 2011 honors can be found at the Best Sports Web site page.

There is one significant change in this year’s WebAwards. The much coveted Top Agency WebAward is given to the organization who wins the most total WebAwards in a single competition. However each year many agencies win multiple awards and deserve additional recognition. This year, we will recognize each organization that wins 10 or more WebAwards with an Outstanding Interactive Developer trophy.

Participants can improve their chances on winning a WebAward by checking out the Web Marketing Association Facebook Page and becoming a fan of the page.  The Web Marketing Association will be providing hints and tips on how to improve your chances on winning a top award throughout April and May.

The 2011 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: BGT Partners, Burst Media, PR Newswire, AllBusiness, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, Internet World UK, SES Conference, Webmaster Radio, and Website Magazine.

About the WebAwards

The Web Marketing Association’s 15th annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industries by evaluating Web sites based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The WebAwards recognizes the people and organizations responsible for developing the most effective Websites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Website assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit